French Treasury banknotes of territories occupied after 1945

In 1945, at the end of the Second World War, Germany and Austria were divided into four occupation zones controlled by the Allies. The zones entrusted to France include certain German territories bordering the French border, including the Saarland, North Tyrol and the Vorarlberg Land in Austria. In order to facilitate the daily life of the Troops of Occupation in Germany (T.O.A), it was decided to create an autonomous currency, the Franc FFA, which is legal tender only in the zones occupied by the French army. In 1947, a first issue "Trésor Français" was commissioned by the accounting officers of "Paieries du Trésor pour les Territoires Occupés". Of this last issue, the cuts of 50, 100 and 1000 francs are used briefly by the troops based in Cyprus during the Suez expedition in 1956, with the mention "Forces Françaises en Méditerranée Orientale". A second issue "Trésor Public" was then created in 1955 but only for troops positioned in Germany. This last issue is overprinted in "New francs" in 1960. In 1963 with the reestablishment of the Franc, a banknote of 50 francs Public Treasury is created but not issued. The small land of Saarland sees a temporary issue of six "Saarmark" notes.

Top of page
© 2018-2023, Numizon. Tous droits réservés.
Listing Index
Build in Paris - version 3.10.2 comp:1.5.8 sty:161