Province of Canada (1866)  (1866)

The period preceding the creation of the Canadian Confederation of 1867 is marked by colonial divisions. North America at this time is an assembly of British colonies quite distinct and autonomous. When the first notes were issued in January 1867, the four provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia were able to form a confederation called the "Dominion of Canada". The British North America Act (BNAA) officially came into effect July 1, 1867. The "Province of Canada" notes will continue to circulate for several years. In their day-to-day operation, these notes could only be redeemed in gold at the offices of the Receiver General of a few cities, mainly Montreal, Toronto, Halifax and Saint John in New Brunswick. Each note was countersigned upon receipt of the hand of a designated agent. All the clippings contain the handwritten signature of the Deputy Receiver General T.D. Harington. Notes over $ 2 were only used by financial institutions. The vast majority of these banknotes have finally been recovered and destroyed, so there are very few copies still outstanding!

Top of page
© 2018-2023, Numizon. Tous droits réservés.
Listing Index
Build in Paris - version 3.10.2 comp:1.5.8 sty:161
Numizon NavigationNumizon Navigation