Agricultural Fund of Papeete (1880-1894)

Under Protectorate status since 1842, the Tahitian Islands or French Settlements in Oceania became a colony from 1880. This period was marked by a large immigration of metropolitan residents and the colonial economy was booming despite disparities between the archipelagos. The Chamber of Commerce was created in 1880 and the first issuing bank to open in Tahiti was the Agricultural Fund of Papeete (Caisse Agricole de Papeete). A decree of July 27, 1880 authorizes the bank to print over a period which will cover the years 1880 to 1894, uniface cash vouchers having currency value and denominated in Tara (1 tara = 5 francs).