Guernsey Island

Discover all banknotes issued between 1941 and 2018!

News by - on

The Bailiwick of Guernsey

The island of Guernsey is located in the English Channel off the French coast of Cotentin. This territory also includes other small islands such as Aurigny, Jethou, Herm, Brechou and Sark. With the island of Jersey nearby, all of these islands form an archipelago better known as the Channel Islands.

The first permanent inhabitants of Guernsey are monks from the Duchy of Normandy. But the presence of prehistoric monuments suggests a much earlier occupation. Despite its geographic proximity to the French coast (30 miles), Guernsey has belonged to the British crown since 1066 and the Norman conquest of England by William the Conqueror. Since then, the island and its neighbors have been administered by their own laws and customs. They do not have an international legal personality but are also not assimilated in the United Kingdom!

They are only a dependency of the British Crown and are divided into two bailiwicks: the bailiwick of Jersey and the bailiwick of Guernsey. Each bailiwick has its own government, its own laws and its own tax system. These territories are not part of the United Kingdom and are therefore not represented in the British Parliament. They are administered by a bailiff or "bailiff", head of civil status designated by the Crown. Likewise, bailiwicks are not part of the European Union or the Schengen area.

The Guernsey pound

Guernsey mint its own currency (the Guernsey pound) issued in parity with the English currency which also circulates on the island. The first banknotes issued on the island date from the beginning of the 19th century. The island is then under English administration. It was from 1816 that the Bailiwick of Guernsey stopped delegating the creation of its currency to the Bank of England and the issues of the island's government now bore the name "States of Guernsey".

The 40 Guernsey Notes

Almost all banknotes issued from 1808 until the late 1930s are very rare. We therefore made the decision to start the catalog of Guernsey banknotes only from 1941. Banknotes prior to this date will therefore be added later ...

Discover now all these notes classified in chronological order and divided into the following categories:

1941 : The States of Guernsey
1942 : The States of Guernsey
1943 : The States of Guernsey
1945 : The States of Guernsey
1945-1966 : The States of Guernsey
1969-1975 : The States of Guernsey
1980 : The States of Guernsey
1990-2018 : The States of Guernsey

Our sources

Top of page
© 2018-2021, Numizon. All rights reserved.
Text index Legal mentions Contact us
Build in Paris - version A-3.7-1.5.7-161
Numizon NavigationNumizon Navigation