1990-2020: 30 years of banknotes!

News by - on

Historical context

The Portuguese reached the coast in 1486 but it was during the 19th century that the Europeans occupied this country located on the Atlantic coast of southern Africa, delimited to the north by Angola, to the east by Botswana and to the south by South Africa. The German colonization of this region of South-West Africa is preponderant between 1860 and 1915. After the WWI and the defeat of the Germans, the territory comes under British mandate and therefore of South Africa which ends up annexing it in 1946.

In 1966, the guerrilla group of the Marxist People's Organization of South West Africa (SWAPO) launched a war of independence for the region that became Namibia, but it was not until 1988 that the South Africa agrees to end its administration in accordance with a peace plan signed under the aegis of the United Nations. The Parliamentary Republic of Namibia became independent in 1990.

Namibian dollar

Before independence, Namibia used the South African Rand for very long years. In 1990, when the Bank of Namibia was created, the new currency was then simply attached to the previous value. The currency is referred to as the Namibian dollar "NAD", or "$ N". Fixed at equal parity with the South African rand, the Namibian dollar enjoys relative stability by being backed by one of the most developed countries on the African continent.

A first attempt to issue four banknotes denominated in "kalahar" was made by the "Reserve Bank of Namibia" in 1990 but the denominations were never put into circulation (1).

From 1993 to 2009, The Young Bank of Namibia issued five denominations of N $ 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200, the front of which featuring the portrait of Hendrik Witbooi, leader of the Nama people who opposed the German colonial authorities to the early 20th century and today considered a true national hero by Namibians.

Between 2011 and 2018, the range was renewed with new, more efficient security signs and with a front featuring the Portrait of Sam Nujoma, the first President of the Namibian Republic between 1990 and 2005.

In this year 2020, the country is celebrating its 30 years of independence and has therefore issued for the occasion, a commemorative $ 30 note featuring the effigy of the three successive presidents!


(1) FYI, we are looking for photos of these notes in excellent definition! Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Our sources

Top of page
© 2018-2021, Numizon. All rights reserved.
Text index Legal mentions Contact us
Build in Paris - version A-3.6-1.5.5-161
Numizon NavigationNumizon Navigation